A Blog is Born

21 May

First posts are always awkward, aren’t they? How to begin? I could start by telling you a little bit about myself. My name is Marilyn. I was born in Queens, NY and raised on Long Island. Eight years ago I moved to the North Shore of Massachusetts for the fresh ocean air and the fried seafood. I live halfway between Boston and Rockport (a seaside town on Cape Ann that juts out of the coastal outline of the state of Massachusetts).  I used to go to Rockport every year for vacation, just to get away from New York City. Then one day I decided to get away from New York City for good. While I miss New York, I love living where I live. Between the city and the sea, I have the best of both worlds.

I still enjoy “getting away” to Rockport. My sister and I referred to it as needing some “Rockport happiness.” Only now it’s half an hour away instead of a four-hour drive. I can head over there whenever I need some aforementioned “Rockport happiness” and still sleep in my own bed at night.

View of Rockport Harbor. The red building in the distance is Motif #1, America’s most painted/photographed landmark.

Bearskin Neck, Rockport’s main shopping drag.

Colorful Kayaks

On the beach

Looking at the sea through a boardwalk

Leave a Reply

