Shorts for Summer

25 May

Even though it’s only May, we’re already having summer-like temperatures this week. Today was 77 degrees. Which got me thinking: maybe I should invest in a pair of shorts. I haven’t worn shorts in 20 years, due to the fact that I’m an extremely pale red-headed person who avoids the sun like the plague. My legs are pasty and white. I just don’t have the courage to inflict them on the general public. So my only summer option for pants are denim or canvas capris. But since they only reach above the ankle, it’s not all that different from wearing long pants. And denim can be so darned heavy in the summer. So if I were going to wear shorts, how short should I go? I cringe at the last shorts I wore: those tight, rolled-hem bleached denim shorts from the GAP that stopped just above the knee. They positively scream 1990s. If I’m going to wear shorts again, I want proper shorts. Short shorts (but not short-shorts. I’m not that bold). But am I ready for shorts? Any fears that I have that wearing shorts would make me look like a tacky tourist sans fanny pack are immediately dispelled when I think of Scarlet Johansson’s funky fashion sense in Ghost World.

Thora Birch as Little Enid and Scarlet Johansson as Rebecca in Ghost World.

One possibility for cute shorts this summer is the Chino Short in Black ($40.00) by Lands End Canvas. I always have good luck with Lands End Canvas, the hipper, less nautical sister of Lands End.

Another option is the High-Waist Double Serge Short ($98.00) from J. Crew. But do I really want to pay $98 for a pair of shorts?

Then there’s the super-cute Printed Short ($49.50) from Banana Republic.

These shorts from H&M ($24.95) feature tailored details such as a tie belt, front box pleats, and sewn cuffs at the hems.

As you can see, there is no shortage of shorts options (excuse the pun) this summer. I just have to decide which one to go with. Any one of them would look great with a three-quarter-length sleeved t-shirt and a pair of canvas skimmers. Or maybe I’ll wear my Doc Martens with them like Scarlet in Ghost World.

What is your go-to piece for warmer weather?

3 Responses to “Shorts for Summer”

  1. astimegoesbuy May 25, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    I think the first pair would be really cute for the summer.
    What I like about the J. Crew pair is that in the winter you could wear them with tights to the office to it decreases the cost per wear!
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • The Fair Geraldine May 25, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      I love your idea about wearing shorts with tights. I’ve admired it on other women but haven’t had the courage to try it. Maybe this time I will!

      Lyn

      • astimegoesbuy May 25, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

        You’ll love it once you do!
        I have a pair of linen shorts that get as much wear in the winter as the warmer months.
        Cheers,
        Laura

Leave a Reply

