I’m Obsessed with this Room: Caroline’s Room

28 May

I came across this bedroom while looking for quilt ideas on Pinterest. I was planning on making my own quilt (I hadn’t yet found my yard sale treasure), and I needed some inspiration. When I found this room, I was immediately taken with it. This room conveys everything that I want in my own bedroom: color, pattern, texture, and most of all, a sense of peace and relaxation. It was designed by interior designer Lynne-Anne Bruns for her daughter Caroline. It has appeared on several design websites including Country Living and Apartment Therapy, as well as countless blogs.

Most of the photos of quilts that I found for inspiration show them displayed on a metal bed, usually white. There’s just something about a quilt on a metal bed frame that enhances its antique, homespun quality. But the bright blue walls of Caroline’s room give it a fresh, modern feel that prevents the quilt and bed from becoming too Little House on the Prairie-ish. For some reason, the walls of many of the bedrooms with quilts in the photos I’ve found are blue. Blue can be a very relaxing shade. White furniture looks especially clean and bright against it. For Caroline’s room, Lynne-Anne used Jamaican Aqua (#2408) by Benjamin Moore.

Caroline’s room has everything I want in my bedroom. Antique quilt? Check. White metal bed? Check. Blue walls? Check. Hardwood floors? Check. Window with a view? Check. Separate lounging area? Check. I love the old shutters inside her bedroom window. It’s the architectural details of an old house, blended with a young aesthetic, that make her bedroom the perfect place to get away to. What little girl wouldn’t want a room like this? I’m sure that when she is an adult Caroline will look back with fond memories of her childhood room, just like I do when I think about my bedroom in the house I grew up in.

You can check out more of Lynne-Anne’s beautiful house on her Flickriver site.

2 Responses to “I’m Obsessed with this Room: Caroline’s Room”

  1. astimegoesbuy May 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    WOW! That room is spectacular!
    I would have loved growing up in that room.
    cheers,
    Laura

  2. pillowsalamode May 28, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    LOVE!!!

Leave a Reply

