Thrift Score

1 Jun

Some of my newest purchases of Corning Ware and Pyrex. Did you know Pyrex was a division of Corning Ware? I didn’t either. I got all of these pieces at my local thrift store last Friday.

I found four pieces of Corning Ware blue cornflower. The dish in the first photo (I had a hunkering for mac and cheese after blogging about it last week) cost $3.25. The largest square dish in the second photo was $4, the medium was $2.50, and the mini was $1.50. I scored all four pieces for $11.25. Not bad for my first purchase of vintage Corning Ware. I’m only collecting Blue Cornflower because that’s what I grew up with. My mom still uses her various baking dishes, and she got them as wedding presents 50 years ago.

I also snagged a Pyrex casserole dish in a groovy floral pattern for $3. The pattern’s proper name is Spring Blossom, but it’s unofficially known as Crazy Daisy. I grew up with various Pyrex patterns, and since they come in so many pretty colors and patterns, I’m not going to limit myself to one particular pattern.

I can honestly say that I’m addicted to collecting Corning Ware and Pyrex. I look forward to posting more pics as I add to my collection.

4 Responses to “Thrift Score”

  1. pillowsalamode June 1, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    I have these blue ones! 🙂

  2. astimegoesbuy June 1, 2012 at 6:20 am #

    Now you’ve done!
    I’m craving mac and cheese. 🙂
    It happens about once a year, I make a big pan of it and live on it for a few days. Must dig out my recipe and get baking.
    Love the old blue cornflower Corning Ware baking dishes. Greatest ever! My mum still has hers. I sold mine off when I packed up and moved to the other side of the world…must make it a mission to buy some new ones.
    Cheers,
    Laura

  3. thoroughlymodernmarilyn June 1, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Mac and cheese is good for getting a few days worth of dinner out of it, which means I don’t have to cook tonight! I hope you build up your collection again.

Leave a Reply

